Monthly Archives: January 2013


World Series of Beer Pong VIII Photos!

A look back at our last WSOBP. Keep your eyes out soon for more incredible beer pong events !


Also check out the event shirt, now available in the BPONG Store!


Drinkin’ Smokin’ Straight West Coastin’ Wins WSOBP VIII


The final table at this year’s World Series of Beer Pong was filled with familiar faces. But in the end, a new champion was crowned as Drinkin’ Smokin’ Straight West Coastin’ beat two-time WSOBP champion Smashing Time to win the World Series of Beer Pong VIII.

The teammates from California, Michael “Sonoma Joe” Sievert and Timothy “Byron” Findley, long considered two of the games premier players, have tasted success before. Both players have won numerous high-stakes beer pong tournaments, both individually and as teammates. But in what is rumored to be their final World Series of Beer Pong appearance, DSSWC finally claimed the elusive title of World Champions and its grand prize of $50,000.

“Feels pretty incredible,” Michael Sievert said of the win. “In everything I have ever done in life I have strived to be the best at what I do, and I have finally accomplished that with beer pong and it feels great.”

Making the final table for their first time in WSOBP play was no easy task. In winning their pod, they outlasted WSOBP VI champions “Standing Ovation” and one of last year’s winners, Ross Hampton, of “DanegeRoss.” As a reward for their difficult pod, they had the luxury of facing the only two-time World Series of Beer Pong champions, Michael “Pop” Popielarski and Ron Hamilton of “Smashing Time,” winners of WSOBP IV and WSOBP V in the finals.

While the day started with 160 teams hoping to take home the giant-sized check, the field was quickly narrowed to 128 teams after the single-elimination play-in round. The winners of each of the 16 pods then played in the Sweet 16 round, which left Smashing Time vs. Zach Gilkison and Ricky Posada of “The Blueprint” and DSSWC vs. Richard “Chewie” Patchett and Paul Toland of “Captain Esquire” in the Final Four.

Team “Albuquerque Owes Us Handjobs” was the #1 overall seed heading into the final day of competition with a 12-0 record in prelims and record +63 cup differential. Teammates Nolan Jones and Grady Hunt lost in the finals of Pod 1 to “Boom Goes the Dynamite,” teammates Michael Gramer and Ryan Rossell. Boom Goes the Dynamite was later eliminated by “The Blueprint” in the Elite 8.

Please check back soon for photos and more coverage of this year’s World Series of Beer Pong.


WSOBP VIII Day Two Recap and Final Day Preview

Day Two of the World Series of Beer Pong concluded this evening in record-breaking fashion, with “Albuquerque Owes us Handjobs” earning the #1 seed entering the final day of competition.

Teammates Nolan Jones and Grady Hunt earned the top spot in style, breaking the two-year-old cup differential record with a 12-0, +63 margin. Over 12 games, the duo from the West Coast won each game by 5.25 cup games. Team Bangarang, tied for first place after Day One, finished preliminary play in second place with a 12-0, +58 cup differential.

While 372 teams hoped to make the final day and play for $50,000, only 160 were able to move on to tomorrow’s final round. The bottom 64 teams will play in a single-elimination round to advance into double-elimination pool play. The winner of each “pod” will play in two double-elimination brackets in the Sweet 16.

Here are the top seeds from each pod:

Pod 1: Albuquerque Owes us Handjobs (Nolan Jones and Grady Hunt)

Pod 2: Why you Mad? (David Talamantez Jr. and James Alanis)

Pod 3: Bangarang (Thomas Reap and Kris Fraser)

Pod 4: Don’t Crap Out (Mantis and Andre Mirzayan)

Pod 5: Hank&Dank (David Peacock and Brad Mosdell)

Pod 6: DanegeRoss (Ross Hampton and Dane Ellis)

Pod 7: PongZillA (Ben Robelin and Mark Pettitt)

Pod 8: SLEEPYFOX & SANCHEZ (Lenny O’Rourke and David Zajac)

Pod 9: This Ain’t Sea World (Mike Wan and Peter Rusch)

Pod 10: We Invented Swag (Mark Pimental and Arnold Colela)

Pod 11: Substance Over Style (Nick Barbera and James Riebl)

Pod 12: Super Squirrel Swag (Aaron Smith and Zach Johnson)

Pod 13: Indelible Ink (Andy Decaluwe and Scott Frew)

Pod 14: Presents Clinically Proven (Chris Kingsbury and Christopher Cross)

Pod 15: Sunny Side Up (Kevin Kwiatkowski and Michael Kloiber)

Pod 16: Bang Cup (Antonio Ayala and George Garcia)

Be sure to check throughout tomorrow for up-to-the-minute stats and results.

Good luck to all teams playing tomorrow!



WSOBP VIII Day One Recap

The World Series of Beer Pong VIII officially kicked off this morning at the Flamingo Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas. When former Las Vegas mayor Oscar Goodman opened the competition declaring beer pong the official sport of Las Vegas, the 372 teams in attendance erupted in cheers.

Day One of the World Series of Beer Pong is always a celebration. Every team starts with a clean slate and an equal chance at making a run at the $50,000 grand prize. Everyone is a contender on the first day. Teams do their best to rack up the wins and positive cup differential, positioning them in the best possible spot for a high seed in the third and final day of competition.

At the halfway point, the separation between the contenders and the pretenders begins to widen. While 41 teams remain undefeated win six wins at the halfway point, two teams sit tied in first place with the highest cup differential of +34. presents Clinically Proven and Bangarang are the two teams everyone will chase tomorrow. Chris Kingsbury and Christopher Cross, members of presents Clinically Proven, finished second overall in last year’s WSOBP. Both teams are poised to break the two-year-old cup differential of +60, set by Last of a Dying Breed two years ago.

DanegeRoss, last night’s East vs.West champion, finished the day at 6-0 with a +22 cup differential. Ross Hampton of DanegeRoss was part of last year’s WSOBP VII champion, Seek N Destroy. WSOBP VI champs, Standing Ovation, finished the day at 4-2 with a +20 cup differential. WSOBP IV and V champs Smashing Time, reuniting after last year’s hiatus, also finished the day undefeated with a +16 cup differential.

After the second half of preliminary games tomorrow, 160 teams will move on to the final day of competition. The bottom 64 teams will play a single-elimination round with the winners advancing to 128-team double-elimination pool play. The top 16 teams will advance to the Sweet 16 round, where they will play in two double-elimination brackets. The top 2 teams from there will play for the giant-sized $50,000 grand prize.

Tonight’s side events will feature Men’s Singles and Female Singles competition.


DanegeRoss wins the East vs. West Tournament

It may be a new year, but it was the same old results for defending World Series of Beer Pong Champion Ross Hampton. Along with partner Dane Ellis, “DanegeRoss” won last night’s East vs. West tournament in the Eldorado Ballroom at the Flamingo Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, kicking off the first official event of the World Series of Beer Pong VIII.

Hampton and Ellis, teaming up in their first official WSOBP event, are one of the favorites to win this year’s WSOBP $50,000 main event. The duo outlasted a field of 128 and beat RGVP, Cameron Chappell and Adrian Gonzales, representing, McAllen, TX, in the finals.

Smashing Time, two-time WSOBP champions reuniting for the WSOBP after a brief hiatus, finished third in the tournament. David Glaser and Edan Hemphill finished in fourth place. Kevin Kessler and Vince Catizone (Moment of Truth) tied for fifth place against Bangarang, Thomas Reap and Kris Fraser.